Washington State Action Alert!

Friday, January 19th, 2018

The Washington State House Judiciary Committee will hold a hearing on five anti-gun bills. January 25th at 1:30pm in the John L. O’Brien building Hearing Room A. Join the Citizens Committee for the Right to Keep and Bear Arms and our state affiliate Washington Arms Collectors, and make your voice heard!

Express your support for the right to keep and bear arms (your Article1 Section 24 right under the Washington State Constitution) and join us at the John L O’Brien hearing room A, at 1:30pm (The John L O’Brien building is at 504 15th Ave SW, Olympia, WA 98501 arrive early to find parking.) Be sure to sign in to the House Judiciary Committee meeting using the sign-In kiosks located in the main hallway, indicating your opposition to further restriction of your right to keep and bear arms. Indicate “con” on HB1387, HB2293, HB2422, & HB2622. Further information about testifying at public meetings is here http://leg.wa.gov/legislature/Pages/Testify.aspx

Be sure to follow up with your Legislators and the members of the House Judiciary Committee with your polite request that they oppose any further infringement of your rights, committee contact information is listed at bottom. Find out who represents you at http://app.leg.wa.gov/DistrictFinder/ then click their name for contact information.

HB1387: Sponsor Laurie Jinkins, D-27
Annual licensing / registration of so called assault weapons and normal (10+) capacity magazines.

HB2293: Sponsor Ruth Kagi, D-23,
http://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2293&Year=2017Prohibits carry of firearms in day care and early learning facilities.

HB2422: Sponsor Strom Peterson D-21
Prohibits so-called “Large capacity magazines” (10 and more) with limited exceptions, any meeting the exceptions must be stored locked up or face criminal charges.

HB2666 Sponsor Nicole Macri D-43
http://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2666&Chamber=House&Year=2017Creates a confusing patchwork of firearms law by killing our decades old state preemption statute.

Members of the House Judiciary Committee:

Laurie Jinkins (D-27) Chair (360) 786-7930 laurie.jinkins@leg.wa.gov
Christine Kilduff (D-28) (360) 786-7958 christine.kilduff@leg.wa.gov
Jay Rodne (R-5) (360) 786-7852 jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov
Paul Graves (R-5) (360) 786-7876 paul.graves@leg.wa.gov
Roger Goodman (D-45) (360) 786-7878 roger.goodman@leg.wa.gov
Larry Haler (R-8) (360) 786-7986 larry.haler@leg.wa.gov
Drew Hansen (D-23) (360) 786-7842 drew.hansen@leg.wa.gov
Steve Kirby (D-29) (360) 786-7996 steve.kirby@leg.wa.gov
Brad Kilppert (R-8) (360) 786-7882 brad.kilppert@leg.wa.gov
Dick Muri (R-28) (360) 786-7890 dick.muri@leg.wa.gov
Tina Orwall (D-33) (360) 786-7834 tina.orwall@leg.wa.gov
Matt Shea (R-4) (360) 786-7984 matt.shea@leg.wa.gov
Javier Valdez (D-46) (360) 786-7818 javier.valdez@leg.wa.gov